Coffee grinder - How to choose the right one in 2022

Manual coffee grinder

The coffee grinder is the essential accessory for all coffee lovers. Once ground, coffee gradually loses its aroma and flavor. The powder dries quickly, losing some of its precious elements. Purists even say that coffee should be consumed between two days and two weeks after roasting. If you must store your ground coffee, choose a cool, dry place, as this will delay the loss of aroma.

Don't have a coffee grinder? Go see our article on how to grind your coffee without a grinder

Why grind coffee?

Let's face it, freshly ground coffee can make the difference between a bland coffee and a quality coffee.

It is important to know that roasted coffee does not keep well, especially in its ground form! Coffee beans keep their aromas longer and oxidation is also delayed. In fact, coffee (even beans) should be consumed within two days of roasting. This is how the inhabitants of South America consume it.

Salon roasters exist and will soon be the subject of a blog post. Until then, you won't regret grinding your precious beans yourself. Some baristas say that the coffee grinder is the most important accessory for preparation and often makes the difference between a good and bad tasting experience.

Why use a coffee grinder?

The coffee grinder is almost indispensable, here are the main reasons.

Grinding coffee without a grinder is complicated, here is a complete article listing all the tips to grind coffee without a grinder. It is possible to use a hammer or a mortar and pestle, but these methods are costly in time and energy. If we consider that you have to grind your coffee every 48 hours to have the freshest raw materials possible, it is quickly indicated to buy a coffee grinder.

Note: It is impossible to grind coffee by hand without even a manual coffee grinder and hope to obtain a grind that matches the corresponding coffee machine. Each type of machine requires an adapted grind. The grind of an espresso machine, for example, will be much finer than a grind for a piston coffee maker!

The price of mills has decreased in recent years, the use of it has increased, manufacturers have been able to lower their prices by selling more volume. A low-cost offer was also born, we can find today electric mills for less than 20€. However, you will need a budget of about 100€ to have a durable mill, of good quality and highlighting your best grain

Automatic or manual coffee grinder?

The manual coffee grinder

The manual coffee grinder is obviously the most basic of coffee grinders. Generally made of metal with a wooden compartment, the manual grinder is used by turning a crank on the top of the object. Our grandmothers have all had one of these grinders.

manual coffee grinder

I regularly grind my own coffee beans with a manual grinder. The advantages are:

  • no electricity needed
  • low maintenance - long life
  • rather quiet
  • inexpensive

There are two types of manual mills, the mills with a ceramic rack and with a metal rack.

Some coffee grinders allow you to choose the grind that suits you. Depending on your tastes and your type of coffee machine, it is a good idea to use the right grind of beans.

Electric coffee grinders

Want to grind your coffee effortlessly? Here is what you need, a electric coffee grinder that will make your life easier in the morning.

These machines are very easy to use, you insert the grain inside, press a button and off you go.

Some coffee grinders are equipped with conical grinding wheels which allow to grind coffee faster than flat wheels on small machines.

Generally, the bigger the machine, the faster it grinds coffee, so choose a machine that fits your needs.

Blade mill or grinding mill?

The coffee grinder with blades

Among the types of coffee grinders, the most basic electric grinder is the blade grinder. This grinder works like a blender. It contains two steel blades that grind the coffee to a satisfactory grind.

coffee grinder with blades

It is also the most affordable electric coffee grinder with entry level grinders around 20€.

The problem with these coffee grinders is that it is rarely adjustable. Therefore, it is not possible to get the perfect grind for your machine. This is an important point to note, however the ground coffee is also not suitable for all coffee makers.

The second negative aspect of the blade coffee grinder is that it tends to heat the bean and therefore degrade the coffee. To obtain a good coffee, the bean must not rise in temperature between its roasting and its final preparation.

Benefits:

  • It is generally less expensive than the grinder, so it is a good compromise for a small budget and to enjoy a fresh coffee in the morning
  • The blade mill often has a smaller size and can therefore be stored more easily.

Disadvantages:

  • The blade grinder produces an uneven grind, so it will not fit all coffee machines.
  • The coffee tends to heat up during the crushing process. Therefore, the taste of the coffee is degraded.
  • It is impossible to adjust the grind size, which is not recommended for the most demanding amateurs.

The coffee grinder with wheels

The coffee grinder with classic wheels

Some coffee grinders have a grinding wheel system, rather than breaking the beans with a rapidly rotating blade, grinding wheels crush the beans.

coffee grinder with wheels

The advantage of coffee grinders is that they do not need to rotate very fast, which limits heating and preserves the coffee's aromas to the maximum.

Coffee grinders often offer a grind adjustment, and this feature is highly sought after by coffee lovers because the grinder adapts the grind to the coffee machine used.

The ceramic grinding wheel mill

High-end coffee grinders usually have ceramic grinding wheels. These grindstones further reduce the temperature generated by the coffee grinder process. It is this type of machine that will best respect your raw material: the coffee beans.

It is therefore an investment that can be beneficial if your coffee consumption is regular and especially if you are demanding with its quality. It's a shame to waste the best beans during the grinding process.

Advantages and disadvantages of the coffee grinder

Benefits

  • Coffee grinders with grinding wheels are often adjustable, which is a very good point if you have several coffee machines.
  • The grain tends to heat up less during the process, thus preserving a maximum of aroma.
  • Grindstones are generally more durable, and it is possible to improve your mill by purchasing more efficient grindstones.

Disadvantages

  • The price is generally higher.
  • Cleaning is less simple than with a blade mill.

Leave a Comment

Machine à moudre le café manuelle

Le moulin à café est l’accessoire indispensable de tous les amateurs de café. Une fois broyé, le café perd peu à peu ses arômes et sa saveur. La poudre sèche rapidement, en perdant en même temps certains des éléments précieux. Les puristes indiquent même qu’il faudrait consommer le café entre deux jours et deux semaines après la torréfaction. Si vous devez entreposer votre café moulu, préférez un endroit frais et sec, cela retardera le processus de perte d’arômes.

Vous n’avez pas de moulin à café ? Allez voir notre article sur comment moudre son café sans moulin

Pourquoi moudre du café ?

Qu’on se le dise, le café fraîchement moulu peut faire la différence entre un café fade et un café de qualité.

Il faut savoir que le café torréfié se conserve très mal, surtout dans sa déclinaison moulue ! Le café en grain conserve plus longtemps ses arômes et l’oxydation est également retardée. En réalité, il faudrait consommer un café (même en grain) dans les deux jours qui suivent la torréfaction. C’est d’ailleurs comme cela que les habitants d’Amérique du sud le consomment.

Des torréfacteurs de salon existent et feront rapidement l’objet d’un billet sur le blog. En attendant ce niveau d’exigence, vous ne regretterez pas de moudre vous même vos précieux grains. Certains baristas affirment d’ailleurs que le moulin à café est l’accessoire le plus important pour les préparation et fait souvent la différence entre une bonne et une mauvaise expérience de dégustation.

Pourquoi utiliser un moulin à café ?

Le moulin à café est quasiment indispensable, voici les principales raisons.

Moudre du café sans moulin est compliqué, voici un article complet listant toutes les astuces pour moudre du café sans moulin. Il est possible d’utiliser un marteau ou bien un mortier-pilon, mais ces méthodes sont coûteuses en temps et en énergie. Si nous considérons qu’il faut moudre son café toutes les 48 heures pour disposer de matières premières les plus fraîches possible, il est rapidement indiqué d’acheter un moulin à café.

Il est impossible de moudre du café à la main et espérer obtenir une mouture qui correspond à la machine à café correspondante. Chaque type de machine nécessitant une mouture adaptée. La mouture d’une machine à expresso sera par exemple beaucoup plus fine qu’une mouture pour cafetière à piston !

Le prix des moulins a diminué ces dernières années, l’utilisation de celui-ci ayant augmenté, les fabricants ont pu baisser leurs prix en vendant plus de volume. Un offre low-cost a également vu le jour, on peut trouver aujourd’hui des moulins électriques pour moins de 20€. Il faudra cependant un budget d’environ 100€ pour avoir un moulin durable, de bonne qualité et mettant en valeur votre meilleur grain

Moulin automatique ou manuel ?

Le moulin manuel

Le moulin à café manuel est évidemment le plus basique des moulins à café. Généralement en métal avec un compartiment en bois, le moulin manuel s’utilise en tournant une manivelle disposée sur le dessus de l’objet. Nos grand-mères ont tous eu un de ces moulins.

Je mouds moi-même régulièrement mon café en grains avec un moulin manuel. Les avantages sont :

  • pas besoin d’électricité
  • peu de maintenance – longue durée de vie
  • plutôt silencieux
  • peu cher

Il existe deux types de moulins manuels, les moulins avec une crémaillère en céramique et avec une crémaillère métallique.

Certains moulins à café vous permettent de choisir la mouture qui vous correspond. Selon vos goûts et votre type de machine à café, il est bon d’utiliser une mouture de grains adaptée.

Le moulin électrique basique

Vous désirez moudre votre café sans effort ? Voici ce qu’il vous faut, une machine à moudre le café électrique qui vous facilitera la vie le matin.

Ces machines sont très simples d’utilisation, vous insérez le grain à l’intérieur, vous pressez un bouton et c’est parti.

Certaines machines à moudre le café sont équipées de meules coniques qui permettent de moudre le café plus rapidement que les meules plates sur de petites machines.

Généralement, plus la machine est grosse, plus elle permet de moudre rapidement le café, choisissez donc une machine qui correspond à vos besoins.

Moulin à lame ou moulin à meules ?

Le moulin à lames

Parmi les types de broyeurs à café, le plus basique des moulins électriques est le moulin à lames. Ce moulin fonctionne comme un mixeur ou un blender. Il contient deux lames en acier qui ont pour but de broyer le café jusqu’à l’obtention d’une mouture satisfaisante.

C’est également le moulin à café électrique le plus abordable avec des broyeurs d’entrée de gamme autours des 20€.

Le problème de ces moulins à café est qu’il est rarement réglable. Il n’est donc pas possible d’obtenir la mouture parfaite pour votre machine. C’est un point important à souligner, cependant le café moulu n’est également pas adapté à toutes les cafetières.

Le second aspect négatif du moulin à café à lames est qu’il à tendance à chauffer le grain et donc à dégrader le café. Pour obtenir un bon café, le grain ne doit pas monter en température entre sa torréfaction et sa préparation finale.

Le moulin à meules

Le moulin à meules classiques

Certains moulins à café comportent un système à meules, plutôt que de casser le grain avec une lame qui tourne rapidement, des meules écrasent le grain.

L’avantage des moulins à meules est qu’il n’est pas nécessaire d’avoir une rotation très rapide, ce qui limite la chauffe et préserve au maximum les arômes du café.

Les moulins à café à meules proposent souvent un réglage de la mouture, et cette particularité est très recherchée par les amateurs de café car le moulin adapte la mouture à la machine à café utilisée.

Le moulin à meules céramique

Les machines à moudre le café haut de gamme possèdent généralement des meules en céramique. Ces meules permettent de réduire encore plus la température générée par le procédé. C’est ce type de machine qui respectera le mieux votre matière première : les grains de café.

C’est donc un investissement qui peut s’avérer bénéfique si votre consommation de café est régulière et surtout si vous êtes exigeant avec la qualité de celui-ci. Il est dommage de gâcher les meilleurs crus lors du broyage de vos grains.